Artwork by A Taut Line

Loading... Preview - 0:00 / 0:00 Error - audio unavailable

Buy from: Boomkat / Bandcamp
  1. Ophelia (Floriography)
  2. Tanka

Diskotopia kick off 2018 with the debut single from Tokyo based electronic artist Kym Sugiru. Ophelia marks Kym’s first release proper, and the artist’s unique brand of aqueous mutant-electro caught the attention of label heads A Taut Line & BD1982.

The A side Ophelia (Floriography) is a minimal but hallucinatory dancehall riddim permeated through a crude electro membrane. Bouncy enough for the club, messed up enough for life in 2018.

The 135bpm B side Tanka takes its cues equally from original 1980s Detroit electro and the millennial-era European revival and submerges the result into a kind of magnetically coated syrup designed to be smeared across Shibuya club floors. Synth African kalimba patterns playfully dance around a swung squelchy bassline creating a staunch groove interjected only by snippets of two Japanese junior high school students discussing their poetry homework.

  • Release: 2018-02-02
  • Label: Diskotopia
  • Format: Digital download
  • Artwork: A Taut Line

1000 by Aemong

The Unnamed Trilogy, Vol. 1 by Wally Badarou