Artwork by A Taut Line

Loading... Preview - 0:00 / 0:00 Error - audio unavailable

Buy from: Bandcamp / Boomkat
  1. Always Fwd
  2. Never Backwards
  3. Ascension Procession
  4. Smoke Clearz
  5. Nite Thru

Myakkah returns to Diskotopia after a six-and-a-half-year proper release absence with five steel-forged cuts compiled as the Ascension Procession EP. The long-awaited follow-up to 2012’s esteemed Warehouse Soul EP, builds on the potent fusion of retro-futurism broken beat and DAT house of the debut, and injects a large dose of ectopic sound system flex into the blend.

The ragga jungle inspired Always Fwd generates a compelling magnetic field of energy with tropical and bhaṅgṛā beat poles countering a solid soundbwoy core; the resulting dynamic force is impossible to resist. Deployed like a kind of uprock response, Never Backwards flips the opener’s vibe into a cypher-center heads-down stoic shuffle, with added droplets of EBM percussion and deep house keys falling like beads of sweat hitting the dancefloor.

Title track Ascension Procession takes on a more subliminal resonance with astrological and lysergic ruminations ominously threaded through fragmented pulsating drums and Carpenter-esque VHS synthwork. Smoke Clearz vaporizes into and out of existence as an MPC workout/love letter to the years of cut-and-paste beat production. Finally, Nite Thru continues the drive but on a silkier, funkier palette; shades of Detroit electro, London nu-jazz and Jersey club percolate in a dimly lit alcove somewhere on the astral plane. A vibrant closure to this inspired collection and highly anticipated homecoming.

  • Release: 2018-11-30
  • Label: Diskotopia
  • Format: Digital Download & Stream
  • Artwork by A Taut Line
  • Mastered by Nick Barron

Girar EP by Silvestre

Arclight EP by BD1982