Artwork by A Taut Line

Loading... Preview - 0:00 / 0:00 Error - audio unavailable

Buy from: Boomkat
  1. Act Nine
  2. Pub Crawl
  3. Girl Song
  4. Mannerism
  5. Keys In The Bowl

After previously contributing a remix of BD1982’s VHS Nite for DSK002, Diskotopia is proud to present a 5-track solo EP from the one and only Slackk.

Currently based in London, Slackk is a pioneer of the eski-house sound which draws inspiration from Wiley’s minimal, icy riddims from the early days of grime and the classic jackin’ sounds of Chicago. Slackk’s productions have a distinct quality which evoke feelings of familiarity and in contrast the otherworldly notion of new grounds being forged with every twist and turn.

The galloping percussion and airy synth plucks of Act Nine kick things off in fine style as Slackk extends a dancefloor invitation in the spirit of his Patrice & Friends project. What follows next is not for the lighthearted however, Pub Crawl is a driving, distorted tom-tom rhythm track built for peak time club destruction. Girl Song incorporates a rolling sub bass with Motown-indebted vocal cuts to jaw-dropping effect; a perfect synergy of contemporary r&b, house and garage influences. Slackk then drops the temperature to tried and true eski territory with Mannerism, 16-bit synths on the attack and Baltimore club influenced drum patterns in the trenches. Rounding out the EP is Keys In The Bowl, a snapshot of what Ice Rink would sound like after being broken down and reassembled during a Delorean ride from Chicago to Detroit and then London to Moscow.

Slackk’s Grimetapes project which launched in 2008 was an amazing resource of pirate radio sessions and self-curated mixtapes of classic and obscure sets from the leaders of the grime scene. Over the past year Slackk has released on Numbers, Forefront Recordings and Uttu to critical acclaim and worldwide DJ support. Slackk’s new Patrice & Friends project, which combines aspects of juke and R&B, was recently self-released and featured on Fact Magazine.

You can stream the release in full HERE

  • Release: 2011-11-14
  • Label: Diskotopia
  • Mastered by Nick at The Tenth Egg
  • Artwork by Matt Lyne
  • Distributed by IDOL

Diskotopia Various Artists Volume One by Various Artists

DSK005 by BD1982A Taut Line