Loading... Preview - 0:00 / 0:00 Error - audio unavailable

Buy from: Bandcamp / Bleep
  1. Calibration Alive
  2. Chapter Zero
  3. Cutting Teeth
  4. One Mind
  5. Power
  6. Open the Sky
  7. Oblivion
  8. Dungeon Rose
  9. Bliss
  10. Worlds We Know

Diskotopia is ecstatic to launch our 11th year with a bombastic new LP from label co-founder BD1982. Initiation Insight follows 2021’s seminal Distance Vision LP - which garnered inclusion in Bandcamp’s Best Electronic Music, JunoDaily’s Best New Albums, and coverage in The Wire, RA, and Louder Than War - surveying the previously-plotted sonic ley lines and expanding upon them in drastically robust and kaleidoscopic directions.

Musically, the tracks across Initiation Insight have been composed with an ear towards ritualistic structures, with the album’s themes touching upon spirituality, hermetic philosophy, dreams, and human evolution in the face of impending natural destruction.

On this release, BD1982 favors stylistically nomadic production and a drive for emotion over genre constraints to explore further depths of songwriting and structures not yet heard in his previous material. Tribal-informed industrial and molten-electro styles coalesce with both future-facing and ancient-rooted textures – spread across an underlying current of soundsystem-savvy sonics.

Initiation Insight proves to be another major step in the evolution of BD1982’s sound, a caustic yet covalent natural mutation that will appeal to fans of Killing Joke, My Bloody Valentine, PJ Harvey, Cabaret Voltaire, Samhain, and Tricky alike.

Sseq by Sseq

Secrets of Dawn by Greeen Linez