Artwork by Matt Lyne

Loading... Preview - 0:00 / 0:00 Error - audio unavailable

Buy from: Bandcamp
  1. Human Music
  2. Post Millenium Calm
  3. Optics (Digiflower Version)
  4. Chrome Loops
  5. Crystaline
  6. Chrome Loops (Version)

We are super excited to kick off the 2021 summer proceedings with this absolute killer self-titled mini-album from Beats Unlimited, a new and exciting collaboration between Doc Sleep and Glenn Astro.

San Francisco native Melissa (Doc Sleep) met Ninja Tune affiliate Konstantin (Glenn Astro) after she moved to Berlin and teamed up with Konstantin for a Hypno Discs release on her label, Jacktone. Following this, the two collaborated for a set of three Motoko & Myers remixes on Future Times. The pair continued to work together, and Beats Unlimited is the result of a couple of years of connective alliance during the period of global isolation.

The mini-album is an organic dub-infused modern reinterpretation of circa-2000 electro-acoustic minimal techno and microhouse. Empty space plays just as much crucial importance in the mix as the intricate percussive pieces and crystalline melodic elements. The circuit-bent rhythmic manipulations and textural imperfections add additional warmth and a 3D sense of depth. There is a clear singular sound with this release, and the moments of warped introspective late-night narcosis sit comfortably alongside the raw glass-techno slammers packed to the brim of slow-release dance-floor energy.

Think along the lines of Aoki Takamasa, Akufen, To Rococo Rot, and Matmos & Matthew Herbert’s work on Vespertine, etc., captured through the lens of Kassem Mosse and Shackleton, re-programmed on an MPC, and then run through guitar pedals. We really fucking like it and think you will too!

Seekersinternational Presents Ragga Preservation Society - Worldwide Sound by SeekersInternational

Remember by Ando Laj